PRI board elections open with three asset owner roles available – and four candidates

There are four candidates for three board positions at the initiative

The elections to the board of the Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI) open this week – with three vacant slots for asset owners and one for asset managers.

There are four candidates for the three vacant asset owner slots.

They include two incumbent directors: Xander den Uyl, a Trustee of Dutch pension giant ABP; and Angela Emslie, chair of Australia’s HESTA.

Brazil’s PREVI is going for a seat again, with its new candidate Renato Proença Lopes looking to replace his colleague Marcus Madureira.

The slate is rounded out by Laetitia Tankwe, advisor to the President of the Board of Trustees at Ircantec, the 100% SRI French pension fund.

The candidates have posted brief videos here.

There’s one vacant investment manager position. This has three candidates, including incumbent Sandra Carlisle, senior responsible investment specialist at HSBC Global Asset Management.

She became a board member at the PRI in 2015 while at Newton Investment Management.She was the ‘activist’ candidate to the PRI board who represented a group of asset managers that claimed the PRI had ‘lost its way’ – though she later acknowledged the positive changes in governance at the body.

She doesn’t refer to this specifically in her video but does say that challenges in the form of political and regulatory scrutiny have emerged as responsible investment has entered the mainstream.

“It’s not about me, it’s about the organisation and what we can bring,” Carlisle says, referring to HSBC.

Other asset manager candidates include Runa Alam, co-founding partner and CEO at Development Partners International and Wendy Cromwell, vice chair, director, sustainable investment, senior managing director and portfolio manager at Wellington Management.

Voting closes on November 19 with the results due at the end of that month.

Asset owner signatories vote for asset owner candidates and have three votes. Investment manager signatories vote for investment manager candidates.They have one vote each.