RI’s Carlos Tornero named State Street ESG journalist of the year for BAE Systems article

Tornero is now a four-time winner of prestigious award

Responsible Investor’s Senior Reporter Carlos Tornero has been named a winner in the annual State Street UK Institutional Press Awards for his article on the BAE Systems’ annual general meeting.

He was named ESG Journalist of the Year for his piece that looked at how the Campaign Against Arms Trade (CAAT) group seemed to be the sole voice of engagement at BAE about the Yemen conflict.

He was also shortlisted in the Diversity & Inclusion category. RI Deputy Editor Sophie Robinson-Tillett was shortlisted in the Best Editorial Comment category for her reflections about the EU Sustainable Finance Action Plan, having won in 2015 for her coverage of passive investment in indexing.

It’s the fourth time Carlos has won a State Street award. In 2018 he was named Journalist of the Year (Investor Services) having picked up awards in the investment and regulation categories in 2017 and 2014. Carlos joined the team in 2016 from The Accountant magazine, where he was Editor.

In June, Responsible Investor journalists Khalid Azizuddin and Vibeka Mair won two major journalism awards from the CFA UK, the training and education body for investment professionals.Khalid won the CFA UK Journalist of the Year Award for his ground-breaking coverage of the human rights issues involved in investment in Chinese surveillance companies. Vibeka was named inaugural ESG Journalist of the Year award for her coverage of central banks and green finance.

The State Street awards, now in their 18th year, recognize outstanding performance in institutional financial services reporting.

Entries were judged by an independent panel of industry professionals led by Julian Marr, group editor of Last Word Media and Padraig Floyd, a veteran financial journalist.

The two lead judges were supported by respected figures from the European financial services industry including Malcolm McLean of Barnett Waddingham; CNBC Anchor Karen Tso; Gareth Tancred CEO, Pensions Management Institute; and freelance journalists Gill Wadsworth and Lynn Strongin Dodds.

“We congratulate all of this year’s shortlisted journalists and winners,” said Francisco Aristeguieta, chief executive officer, international business at State Street. “With nearly 200 entries submitted this year, the awards continue to recognize high quality journalism and acknowledge the vital role that the financial press plays in education, information and debate.”