RI People & Appointments, July 1: Green Climate Fund names executive director

The latest ESG movers and shakers

Hela Cheikhrouhou has been named as the first Executive Director of the Green Climate Fund, which is being set up in South Korea to channel support to developing countries to mitigate climate change. Tunisian national Cheikhrouhou is currently Director of the Energy, Environment and Climate Change Department at the African Development Bank. She started her career in the private sector as an investment banker with Citibank, responsible for market risk management in North Africa. Announcement

Moira Hutchinson, Eugene Ellmen and Robert Walker have been awarded the Canadian SRI Distinguished Service Award at the Social Investment Organization’s Responsible Investment Conference in Vancouver on June 18. Hutchinson’s leadership of the Taskforce on the Churches and Corporate Responsibility (TCCR), originally focused on the anti-apartheid campaign in South Africa, helped lay the foundation for the SRI industry in Canada. Sector veteran Ellmen was Executive Director of the SIO from 1999 until January 2013. Walker is Vice-President of ESG Services for NEI Investments.

John Misselbrook, the former chief operating officer at Baring Asset Management, has been named as interim CEO of Aviva Investors. He takes over from Paul Abberley, interim CEO since the departure of Alain Dromer last year. Abberley becomes Head of Investments “with immediate effect”.

Gunnar Miller, Head of Equity Research Europe at Allianz Global Investors, has been appointed to the UK Financial Reporting Council’s Accounting Council, which advises on financial reporting standards, monitoring international financial reporting developments and provides “thought leadership” on financial reporting. Other appointees include Liz Murrall, Director, Corporate Governance and Reporting at the Investment Management Association, Anthony Appleton, Director, Technical Standards Group at BDO, Chris Buckley, Director, External Reporting at GlaxoSmithKline and Veronica Poole, UK National Head of Accounting at Deloitte.

Hattie Burgess has left her role as Marketing Director at Governance for Owners, the UK-based activist investor that is partly backed by pension funds CalPERS and Railpen.Rev. David Schilling, Director of Human Rights and Resources Programs at the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR), has been named chair of the Advisory Board at the Global Social Compliance Programme (GSCP), which works to improve working and environmental conditions in global supply chains. He succeeds Antoine Bernard, CEO of the International Federation for Human Rights, who had the role for four years.

David Diamond, Global Co-head of ESG at Allianz Global Investors, has taken over the investor constituency board seat at the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI). SNS Asset Management’s Head of ESG Research Manuel Adamini becomes an alternate board member. The election took place during the EITI Board Meeting held during the EITI Global Conference in Sydney last month.

Rodney Irwin, Managing Director Financial Capital at the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) is to join the Advisory Board of the new Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB). Samuel DiPiazza, Vice Chairman of Citi’s Institutional Clients Group, and former chairman of the WBCSD, has also agreed to join the council.

Gerard Riemen, Director General of Pensioen Federatie (the Dutch Federation of Pension Funds) has been named as President of the European Association of Paritarian Institutions (AEIP), taking over from Peter Huber. Renato Guerriero, Global Head of European Client Relations at Dexia, has been appointed Vice President at the social protection body.

Lawyer Simon Picken QC [Queen’s Counsel] has been appointed a Church Commissioner on the nomination of the Archbishops of Canterbury and York. “The Commissioners are required to include a Queen’s Counsel and Simon has been nominated to perform this role,” a statement said.

The Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) is inviting applications for membership on its Investor Advisory Panel. Established in 2010, the Panel is seeking several new members for a two-year term. Stan Buell, President of the Small Investor Protection Association, and Nancy Averill, the former Director of Research at the Public Policy Forum, are stepping down.