Marilou van Golstein Brouwers to step down as chair of Triodos Investment Management

Impact investor pioneer to be succeeded by Jacco Minnaar

Marilou van Golstein Brouwers will step down as chair of Triodos Investment Management from January 1 next year after nearly 30 years at the Dutch sustainable bank and being instrumental in the formation of its investment arm Triodos IM in 2000.

She has been Managing Director of this business since 2003 which has grown to €4.2bn in assets under management.

“With her expertise and drive she has been instrumental in the rise and development of the global impact investing sector,” Triodos said.

Jacco Minnaar, currently one of the four Management Board members, will become chair of the management board at the start of next year.

Minnaar, formerly Director Energy and Climate at Triodos IM, became its MD last year.

After leaving Triodos, van Golstein Brouwers will work on a strategic project for Triodos Bank until July 2020. She said she continue to “contribute to the wider movement of conscious capital and sustainable entrepreneurship”.Among many roles, she was a member of the Group of Advisors for the United Nations Year of Microcredit in 2004/2005, a member of the Board of Trustees of Women’s World Banking, Chair of the Steering Committee of the PRI/Principles for Investors in Inclusive Finance, Chair of the Advisory Board of Women in Financial Services (WIFS) in the Netherlands.

Currently she is on the board of the Global Impact Investing Network (GIIN), Chair of the Supervisory Board of B Corps Europe as well as being on the board of various funds and foundations linked to Triodos.

Meanwhile, Tanguy van de Werve has been named as the new Director General at the European Fund and Asset Management Association (EFAMA), the Brussels-based umbrella body.

He was a Managing Director and Head of the Brussels office for the Association for Financial Markets in Europe (AFME) – the trade association representing the banks most active in Europe’s wholesale capital markets. He takes over from Peter De Proft, who has led EFAMA for 11 years.